## C/CAG

# City/County Association of Governments of San Mateo County

Atherton • Belmont • Brisbane • Burlingame • Colma • Daly City • East Palo Alto • Foster City • Half Moon Bay • Hillsborough • Menlo Park Millbrae • Pacifica • Portola Valley • Redwood City • San Bruno • San Carlos • San Mateo • San Mateo County • South San Francisco • Woodside

### Meeting No. 234 April 14, 2011

#### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Chair Grassilli called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Roll Call was taken.

Jerry Carlson - Atherton

Christine Wozniak - Belmont

Sepi Richardson - Brisbane

Terry Nagel - Burlingame

Joe Silva - Colma

Michael Guingona - Daly City

Carlos Romero - East Palo Alto

Linda Koelling - Foster City

Naomi Patridge - Half Moon Bay

Tom Kasten - Hillsborough

Kirsten Keith - Menlo Park

Marge Colapietro - Millbrae

Mary Ann Nihart, - Pacifica

Maryann Moise Derwin - Portoloa Valley

Alicia Aguirre - Redwood City

Irene O'Connell - San Bruno

Bob Grassilli - San Carlos

Brandt Grotte - San Mateo

Karyl Matsumoto - South San Francisco, County Transportation Authority and San Mateo

**County Transit District** 

Deborah Gordon, Woodside

Absent,

San Mateo County

#### Others:

Richard Napier, Executive Director - C/CAG

Nancy Blair, C/CAG Staff

Sandy Wong, Deputy Director - C/CAG

Lee Thompson, C/CAG - Legal Counsel

John Hoang, C/CAG Staff

Jean Higaki, C/CAG Staff

Joe Kott, C/CAG Staff

Tom Madalena, C/CAG Staff

Jim Bigelow, Redwood City/San Mateo County Chamber, CMEQ Member

Christine Maley-Grubl, Alliance
Art Kiesel, Foster City
Ruben Abrica, East Palo Alto
Pedro Gonzalez, South San Francisco
Rose Jacobs Gibson, Supervisor
Corinne Goodrich, SamTrans
Marian Lee, SamTrans
Duane Bay, Director, Dept. of Housing
Kevin Mullen, South San Francisco
Barbara Pierce, Redwood City
David Boesch, San Mateo County

#### 4.0 PRESENTATIONS/ ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 4.1 PRESENTATION

Presentation on the **Growing Smarter Together Awards 2011.** The ABAG annual *Growing Smarter Together Awards Program* showcases the positive work being undertaken by cities, towns and counties in the Bay Area as it relates to a Bay Area vision and smart growth principles being advanced through the FOCUS Initiative. Awards were presented as part of the ABAG Spring General Assembly.

The Sharing the Benefits Award was given to the City/County Association of Government (C/CAG) of San Mateo County for the Sub-RHNA Process in San Mateo County -- the first sub-regional approach in the state for handling the state mandated regional allocation of housing numbers (RHNA) within their county. The groundbreaking collaborative of the County and the 20 cities and towns in San Mateo County was managed by C/CAG. Through collaboration, sharing, and housing need trades, the sub-regional approach allowed the 21 jurisdictions to determine their own methodology for clustering housing in areas of greatest need. Working together, they were able to creatively plan for all levels of housing to meet specific community needs and to find the greatest benefits for the county as a whole, while taking into consideration commuting patterns, job locations, and affects on air quality.

#### 5.0 REGULAR AGENDA

5.1 Review and comment on the Draft Regional Transportation Plan/ Sustainable Communities Strategy (RTP/SCS) Project List. ACTION

Public testimony, and information received.

6.1	Committee Reports (oral reports).
	None.
6.2	Chairperson's Report.
	None.
6.3	Board Members Report
	None.
7.0	EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT
	None.
8.0	COMMUNICATIONS - Information Only
	Copies of communications are included for C/CAG Board Members and Alternates only. To request a copy of the communications, contact Nancy Blair at 650 599-1406 or <a href="mailto:nblair@co.sanmateo.ca.us">nblair@co.sanmateo.ca.us</a> or download a copy from C/CAG's website – <a href="www.ccag.ca.gov">www.ccag.ca.gov</a> .
9.0	ADJOURN
	Meeting adjourned at 6:53 p.m.

6.0

COMMITTEE REPORTS